If Baele streets could talk & Changes: A Love Story.

from the movie

Number of pages: HC-197, SC-?
Literary Genre: Classical fiction ⁣⁣

Stories like this make me speechless. ⁣While reading I was crying. Finished and had a headache. I just slept like a baby. ⁣⁣I woke up and watched the movie. Again, I was crying. Found myself cussing. Cussed more than my parents will tolerate at my age. ⁣⁣But you know the sweetest part for me? It was when Tish’s mum made the family celebrate Tish’ s pregnancy. That does not mean I support teenage pregnancy(not like anyone is saying but I just want to make it clear). I’m just saying when the “harm” has already been caused let’s not worsen it. For life’s sake, the unborn baby(ies)is(are) going to be human after all. Plus he/she is innocent. I found myself smiling at that part😊and the scene.⁣⁣⁣⁣

Ah-mazzing!! See love in this young couple💜😢. I could not stop aww-ing & ooorr-ing (while crying of course😅) ⁣⁣Then, when that hate-mongering white cop/policeman falsely accused innocent Fonny and sent him to jail, I had to take my face-towel😢. Made me think of how serious racism in those years was. ⁣⁣I could pass for anxiety disorder right now! I’m sick😢😢😢 There’s a powerful sense of loss, missed chances & opportunities, lost time and happiness for the young couple & even for the families. ⁣⁣I guess this is one of the stories that request a smile at the end although it’s a tragedy. They were happy & that should make the reader(s) happy too. ⁣⁣
If Beale street could talk,….there’d be⁣
If Beale street could talk…. we’d know the truth ⁣
If Beale street could talk….. ??⁣⁣

the book.

CHANGES: A LOVE STORY by Ama Ata Aidoo

Number of pages: HC: 188⁣⁣⁣
Literary Genre: Fiction⁣⁣⁣
Enquire at: @tbssgh @booktiquegh @buyreadlove @libreriagh(library) @aidoo_centre⁣ for a copy ⁣⁣.⁣

“So what fashioned loving was she ever going to consider adequate? ⁣⁣⁣She comforted herself that maybe her bone blood flesh self, not her unseen soul, would get answers to some of the big questions she was asking in life…” ⁣⁣⁣
I’d like to believe that it’s sometimes after the story has ended that you can conclude whether a book was good or not. ⁣⁣⁣The 1st thing I saw about this book was “AMA ATA AIDOO” I smiled and exclaimed. Then I saw “A love story” and I was like “ptch. Nope!” But somehow I ended up sending the book home. The day I decided to read the book I said a silent prayer- “Ama, please disappoint me by twisting this story and make me shy” and that’s exactly what happened😁. I was elated when I realized the story wasn’t what I thought it was, although Esi’s character was rather overwhelming.⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣

In Changes, you’d see the different definitions of modernity in marriage, between African women and society, traditions, families, and their desires. From the perspectives of Esi, Opokuya, and Fusena, Aidoo shows us how such modern African women view their lives, and with what methods they are willing to fight to improve their lives and somehow that of their partners. The story is told honestly and believable. This story is the more reason so marriage is not something some ladies are inviting neither preventing nor initiating. It’s complex like that.⁣⁣⁣ The story is well written and cogent to some extent. You’d get some understanding of what people mean by “modern Africa”. To me, the story is full of cultural bobs towards European and African civilizations. They don’t come off as a rebuke, preachy, or whatnot.⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣

I would recommend this novel to anyone who wants a chance to look at postcolonial African cultures or just wants a different type of love story😊.⁣⁣
I repeat; This story is not just a love story, it’s a microscopic love-life lesson scribbled in 186pages with a glossary.⁣⁣⁣

the book.

These reviews were originally posted on my bookgram. I’ve decided to revamp that particular gram so this is an archive. kindly click here to follow novels before night.

Leave a comment